Unsuspected Heroes Chapter 55

“Oh my Chaos, it’s Mephiles!” Polo screamed, grabbing Edwards arm. There was a figure coming towards them, it was distorted by the fire and heat. Power and DJ got in front of the humans.

The fire around them just spontaneously went out. “Are you alright?”

“Blaze! Boy are we glad to see you,” Topaz cheered. “Powerful over here can’t put out fire.”

“Hey, I’ve been keeping us alive haven’t I?” He defended himself.

“Your rings,” Blaze stated.

“What about them?”

“They’re not glowing as much as they were when we first met,” she answered.

“Yeah, that’s because I hadn’t used up almost all my power when we first met.”

“What do you mean, used up all your power?” Blaze questioned.

“Do you really want to talk about this now?!” Power raised his voice. “The world is literally at the point of ending, we’re going to be burned alive, and Winter was just a mindless killer, who cares about me losing power?!”

“Seeing as this is a stressful situation, I will forget that you raised your voice at me, and ask my question again; what did you mean when you said losing your power, Power the Hedgehog?!” Blaze said through greeted teeth.

Power sighed. “I can only use so much of my power at a time, otherwise I’d literally burn from the inside out, these rings help with that, they absorbed some of my energy, which is the energy I can use, so when all that energy is used up, they need to recharge. There happy now, can we please keep moving?” And with that he began to walk again.

“What’s his deal?” Topaz asked.

“That’s how his dad died, by taking off his rings to safe him and some others,” DJ whispered.

“He lost his dad, but he seems like a happy kid,” Topaz continued.

“Yeah, he doesn’t let that keep him down, but it still hurts.”

“What about you?”

“Wh-what do you mean, my family?”

“Yeah, what happened to ‘em?”

“I donno, they ditched me when I was little, I was too weird for ‘em,” he answered, looking away.

“Well, they were wrong, your powers are cool, I mean, how can you lose a fight if you know what your opponent is going to do? You can make earthquakes and make plants grow, that’s amazing!” Topaz smiled.

“Yeah…I guess it is, isn’t it?” DJ smiled back.

