Unsuspected Heroes Chapter 50

He was running as fast as he could, but his body ached.

‘Of course he chases me.’

Winter was still unconscious, and with all this heat, there was no way she’d regain it.

“Did you really think you were going to get out of this alive?”  

Shadow feel forward, he turned around, facing Mephiles clutching Winter. “Stay away, or I swear to Chaos I’ll kill you!” Shadow growled.

“You are not in the position to make demands, Ultimate Lifeform,” he answered. “Project Chaos is mine, we have something in common…I can give her something you can never give her, peace. You must understand, I want what is best for her, I want her to stop suffering.”

“You just want to kill her, and I won’t let you, I am not going to lose anyone else!” He growled, charging up a Chaos Nightmare attack.

“You’re being selfish, do you know what she goes through every day, fighting her true self, the agony?” He began to charge up an attack. He smiled wickedly. “Ready to die…Ultimate Lifeform?”

Shadow fired his ball of concentrated Chaos Energy in vain, it never even reached Mephiles, it vaporized seconds after being fired.

Everything happened so fast, when Shadow finally opened his eyes he saw Omega standing in front of him.

“Omega!” He yelled.

“Go…Shadow…I will hold him off,” Omega ordered.

“No, no, I’m not leaving you here!”

“I am asking you as a…friend, go…and promise me you’ll tell Winter she has my 100% respect,” Omega asked.

“You’re going to tell that to her yourself,” Shadow replied.

“You and I both now the chances of me surviving are low, now GO!” Omega ordered, firing at Mephiles.

Shadow ran, he did look back, and that was the last time he saw Omega.

Everything around him was on fire, he didn’t know where the others were, and he had an unconscious hedgehog in his arms. He could feel Winter’s body getting limper, the heat was getting to her, she needed shelter.

“Chaos damn it,” he yelled in frustration.

He suddenly felt a gust of surprisingly cool wind brush against his side. “What the hell…?” He wondered aloud. He looked to his left, and saw a cave. Now, Shadow never did believe in the idea of there being a being of higher power…someone or something watching everyone and letting everything happen, but at that second he was closer to believe it then ever.

He entered the cave and set Winter down on the ground gently. He sat down not too far from her. He sighed as his back slide against the wall as he sank to the ground. He finally began to process everything that had get happened.

He looked at his hand, Winter did this to him. He couldn’t believe THAT was what Winter was fighting, every second of every day, she, she really was a monster. “That wasn’t her!” He hissed. He looked at her, she was now completely normal looking.

He knew that when she woke up, she’d never forgive herself. ‘But, what…what if she doesn’t…wake up.’ He thought. He inhaled sharply, “No, she’s going to wake up…she has too.”

“Sh-Shadow,” a voice whispered. He turned to face her, and without even thinking he hugged her. He didn’t care how awkward this was, he was to…happy. He had felt her body tense when he hugged her. “Shadow?” She sounded confused, and surprised.

He sighed, “Winter, there’s something you need to know…” he lifted up his injured hand reluctantly, so she could see.

“I…I did that,” she gasped. She got up and took serval steps back. “Oh-oh Chaos, I…I…I went Dark.”

“Winter…” he began walking towards her.

“No, Sh-shadow, I, I didn’t mean what I said, I,” she was starting to cry.

“Winter…”

“N-No, st-stay away from me,” she nearly yelled.

“No! No Winter, I can’t do that!” He raised his voice in reply.

“I was going to kill you!”

“But you didn’t, Winter, you didn’t kill me,” he answered.

“B-but, I, I was enjoying it, I wanted to kill you, I’m a monster, I-?!”

She didn’t get to finish her sentence because Shadow had kissed her on the lips. It wasn’t a long kiss, it only lasted about a second. Winter just looked at him, amazed. “Wh-why did you do that?!”

“Because I…love you, and nothing you say or do can change that,” he answered. “You’re not a monster Winter, you’re a hero, even if the world, and you yourself can’t see that. You’d protect anyone, even those who hunt you, a monster wouldn’t do that.”

She smiled a little, as she wiped the tears from her eyes.

“How are we going to get out of here?” She asked him, voice still a little uneven.

“I don’t know, everything out there is on fire, you wouldn’t make it,” he answered.

“There is one way,” she stated.

“No, no way, I barely snapped you out of it back there, I’m not taking that risk,” he refused.

“Look, I don’t like it any more than you do, but we have to do what we have to do, all of Mobius is at stake here!”

“No, it’s too risky!” He yelled. “I know what you really want, you want revenge because Mephiles used you, I know the feeling, trust me, I’ve been there, but you can’t let it control you.”

“I’m not doing this for revenge, like I said, MOBIUS is at stake here Shadow, we have to take risks, that’s how life works!” She yelled back.

“We still have to be rational!!”

“I am being rational, that’s all I know how to do, I have limited emotions remember!!!” She yelled. “Besides that, the life of one person doesn’t outweigh the world!”

“Your life does!” He shouted. He sighed, his voice now came out like a whisper, “Winter… you are my world, no one understands me the way you do, you’re the only person I’ve really ever opened up to since Maria, I-I can’t lose you too…”

She wished her emotion weren’t shallow, she wished she could feel compassion and empathy, she wished she knew what to say as reply to what he has just told he, but she didn’t. There was a silence between the two, neither of them knowing what to say next regarding this topic of…love.

“That can’t be the only way,” Shadow stated.

“Shadow, trust me on this, I wouldn’t suggest it if it wasn’t,” she answered.

“Fine…on one condition, if anything, and Winter, I mean ANYTHING, you stop, got it?”

“Got it,” she answered, clearly annoyed.

“Let’s go,” he said, picking her up bridal style, running out the cave and into the fiery furnace.


DISCAILMER

THIS DOES NOT, I REPEAT, DOES NOT, REFLECT SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG, AND WINTÉR THE ALBINO HEDGEHOG’S RELATIONSHIP. THEIR PROPER REALTIONSHIP WILL BE DISPLAYED IN THE STORY “PROJECT CHAOS.” THANK YOU.

