Unsuspected Heroes Chapter 15

She couldn’t sleep. She couldn’t stop thinking about…everything. Not because of fear, or anger, or ever because she didn’t understand, but because she was digging. Maybe for something that even wasn’t there. She played the memories back in her head almost about a thousand times, but she couldn’t bury the feeling, the feeling that there was more, something missing.

And to top it all off, she didn’t really feel safe in an apartment room. She got out of bed, she looked out the window next to the computers. Only a few street lights were on.

“What was life like?” She turned, Silver stood behind her. “What was life like, during the war…was it…better?”

“I’m the wrong person to ask,” she sighed. “Life was always the same for me, hiding, being hunted.”

“Why?” He asked.

She inhaled. “Because…I’m one of Eggman’s experiments, Project Chaos.”

“And? So what?” Silver said. “That shouldn’t define who you are.”

She smiled slightly. “I know it shouldn’t, but it does, just like the title Overpowered defines all of us.”

“What does Overpowered even mean?” She looked at him. “Why does it have to mean something bad, huh, what can’t it mean something good?”

She laughed slightly. “Well, I know someone who’d start a revolution.” Silver blushed, nervous. “Ironically…the time during the war was better,” she stopped, looking down at the wooden floor. “I had two ever close friends then…that…aren’t here anymore.”

“What happened?” Silver asked, quietly.

“Well, we were winning the war, Eggman went crazy, going into overdrive, but we all underestimated him, and kinda went off guard, Sonic and his Freedom Fighters were under attack, I could hear the explosions and shouts. When I got there their base was burned to the ground, I helped as best I could…”

“But you guys won, didn’t you?”

“…We did, but not without casualties; Amy Rose, and a few others, died that day,” she finished. Silver didn’t answer. “But I guess that’s a good thing, they’re not here to see all the fought for taken.”

“I’m so sorry,” he finally said. He knew it was cliché, but he didn’t know what else to say.

“Yeah, I am too,” she answered quietly. “So, what’s your story?”

“Wh-what, oh, well…I don’t really have one, Mobius was destroyed before I was born. One day Blaze and I found an old file containing information about how it all happened. The was also a note attached to the file, it said we could travel back to this year and stop it, but we’d need the help of Shadow the Hedgehog and Project Chaos,” he explained. She nodded.

The gold plates on her boots glistened as the moon light streamed through the closed window. The black diamonds on her boots and coat gave off a light black arura. Silver had walked away silently, going back to bed. She just stood there overlooking the city through the window again.

“What’s bothering you?”

“What gives you the idea something’s bothering me?” She asked, placing her hands on her hips.

“I’ve know you for a long time, Winter, I was a G.U.N Agent trained to see things, I can tell,” he replied.

“Then your skills need so fine toning, Ultimate Life Form, cause I’m fine,” she said, looking out the window again.

“Yeah sure, whatever you say, Project Chaos,” he smirked.

“Why does everyone call me that? I mean, I have a real, normal name!” She exclaimed.

“It’s not that bad, makes you sound menacing,” he replied.

“Oh, I don’t need to sound menacing,” she said, turning away, blushing slightly.

He knew something was wrong with her. He must have been deep in though because everything happened so fast. He blinked. Winter had tackled him, pinning him to the ground. He felt cold rushing through him, like she was freezing him! His natural instinct kicked in, he fought her, Winter managed to keep him pinned down for quite a while before he kicked her off. She hit the ground with her right shoulder. She hissed stopping herself for attacking him.

“Why’d you do that?” He growled.

“Because there was building scanner right outside the window,” she hissed. “I covered your thermal readings!” She walked into her room, not closing the door. He followed her. He felt a hint of gilt.

“Winter, I,” he sighed. “I’m not really good at apologizes or anything other than combat.”

“Neither am I, in all honesty, I was ready for that. I’ve known you as long as you’ve known me,” she turned to face him. “You may have been trained, but I need these skills to survive…plus, I’ve been hit worse,” she smirked. He chuckled slightly.

