A Grand Adventure-Book 8. Part 3

[Power’s view of things]

Bla, bla, bla. That’s all I heard from the interrogator, I couldn’t care less for what he was saying. Hatred was rushing through me. I hate Shadow! The way he always defeats me, the way he is always angry but I can’t use that against him, the way he was always with Winter-yes-that is what I hated about him most. It was like he was replacing me, like she, like she didn’t need me anymore, like I was no longer her brother, like I had never existed to her, like I was a pain, a burden! Oh, how I hated him! Oh, how I hated him!! I couldn’t take me eyes off him. But he didn’t look at me, which made me angrier.

But then, then in the middle of my anger, of my raging fire, I realized, I saw… he was uncomfortable, it pleased me. I was bothering him! I was getting to him!! I laughed to myself. Finally, I had broken him, like after time if you keep hitting it, steel brakes, my persistence was paying off, I was finally cracking the steel, and I was braking…him. My joy only grew when they left them room.

Then I was alone for hours. I guess it was to try to make me mad or talk, not like it was going to work.

[Winter’s view of things]

I was relieved when the Commander was looking for us when I was going to interrogate him, and that I was out while he was. To me, he is no longer my brother, to me, my brother dead a long time ago. I don’t know who is in that interrogation room but is sure isn’t him. “Hey, Daniel want to know if you want in on his interrogation.” Silver said.

“I want in.” We headed for where the action was.

“Ok, this guy will not talk! He just-he just stands there!”

“Because you’re using the wrong technique.” I replied. He turned. I snatched the case file from his hands. “Well, are you coming? Or am I going to have to do this myself?” We walked in. The moment that door opened he looked at me. He smiled, I couldn’t tell if it was evil or just a smile. “We know what you’re plan is with the Doctor, it’s over.” I could feel the Daniel looking at me like, ‘what the-we don’t!’

“Really, what is it? Last thing I’ve heard is you don’t even know where he is.”

“Well then, let me bring you up to speed. Eggman is on Prison Island locked away…just like you’ll be.” He just looked. “Oh right, you’re plan. A bomb, am I right?”

“Wrong. We aren’t using a bomb…Winter, I am insulted, that is to dull and boring. No we are going for something more…entertaining, something that will really get your attention. You know you really should get that wall fixed, it’s screaming this way in!” He replied. I looked at Daniel (the interrogator). He gestured that I keep doing what I was doing.

“We destroyed the base and everything in it.” I lied. This whole time I had been lying.

“Trust me, the Doctor isn’t done. This blow is going to cripple you, and he’ll rebuild his empire.” He hissed.

“He’ll have to have superhuman luck to do that through his cell on a secured island, even he can’t pull that off, so the question is, what are you defending, no matter what happens here, if you talk or not, you are going to Prison Island, so…what are you doing?” I asked.

“What I do best, Winter, waiting.”

“Hm, well, you keep doing that.” The two of us walked out leaving him alone.

“Ok, how did you do that?!”

“Like you said, his my brother, I know him.”

“All those things you told him are they…true?”

I shook my head. “But what he said might be.”

“He did say cripple us, right…?” We walked down the hall, headed to the main control room. I was deep in thought.

“Did he talk?” The Commander asked.

“Yes.” Daniel replied.

“Anything important?” I told them what Power had boasted. “What does it mean?”

“How do you not know what he means?” Sonic asked.

“Wait, what could cripple us more than G.U.N falling?” Tails asked. “Without you guys it would literally just be us.”

“And like I said, the wall is a huge door.” Sonic continued.

“He said he was waiting…waiting for Eggman to get him out of here while destroying this place.” I finished.

“What was the information stolen?”

“The layout of this building.” The Commander replied slowly. “Which fits perfectly with your theory.”

[Rogue’s view of things]

‘Well that’s nice. Maybe we should have let the Black Arms eat him.’ So the work on the wall was rushed as much as it could be. Everyone was busy, even though a few seconds ago nobody had anything to do. Shadow and I had been sent to find Eggman, I wasn’t going to complain I was getting tired of just wondering around having nothing better to do. Shadow was quiet, only speaking when completely necessary.

I took me a long while to realize this, I mean, Shadow isn’t one for talking, never was. It was weird we hadn’t found Eggman yet, he loves to boast to us and revealing his entire plan out of pride and stupidity-‘Guess his mother never taught him pride comes before a fall.’ I stopped. I looked around. I ran to catch up to Shadow. I thought I had heard something…but guess not.

“There’s nothing here.” He stated. I stopped, I was starting to think Power had lied to us, Eggman never ever hides this well…but what could he gain from lying to us? He really is going to Prison Island, so what?

“Hey, Shadow, what would Power gain from lying to us?”

He thought for a moment. “I don’t know, other than being a complete jerk.”

“No, there’s got to be more. He maybe a jerk, but he isn’t stupid, everything he does is part of a plan.”

“Hmm. You’re right.” We were walking back to base, thinking of what he could gain, what was his plan? I stopped, I had heard something again, this time Shadow noticed. He seemed rather annoyed.

