A Grand Adventure

[Somewhere on the planet Mobius]

They were running to meet a group of friends. “Hurry we’re going to be late.” They started to run faster. The sun was rising. Two figures were standing a few feet away and started to wave.

“Hey guys! How’s it going?” One called.

“Good…I guess.” Sonic answered. “Any signs of him?”

“No, nothing.” The other answered. They all sighed. Life was very boring without Eggman. After the events of about a month ago, Eggman had disappeared from the face of the planet. No evil acts, no surprise attacks, no threats, no kidnappings, no nothing!

“It was kidda nice at first…but now…ug!” Silver replied. Sonic nodded.

“So why did you call us?” Tails asked.

“We need to wait for the others.” Shadow answered. They stood waiting for another ten minutes for the others to arrive.

“What’s up?” Sonic asked.

“Angel Island…thankfully.” Knuckles joked. Rogue landed next to Knuckles.

“Ok Shadow, now that’s everyone’s here.” Silver whispered.

“Eggman, as you know has been staying hidden for over a month,” he began, “That can only mean one thing…he’s planning something big!”

“Yeah a month is a long time…that’s a lot of time to plan.” Tails added.

“So what can we do? We have no idea where he could be.” Knuckles reminded. Rogue smiled, we all looked at her.

“G.U.N has been looking for him and we think we have his location.” She explained.

“And it’s not too far from here.” Silver continued.

“What’s the plan?” Sonic asked.

“We’re gonna split up and surround him.” Shadow answered.

“We might as well work for G.U.N, this is there plan isn’t it?” Knuckles laughed. Rogue bumped him.

“So who’s with who?” Sonic asked.

“Rogue and Knuckles, on the north side, Tails and Sonic, on the south side. Silver on the east side and I take the west.” Shadow answered. They all looked at each other, they didn’t like this, not one bit.

“Yeah…um…that’s not going to work.” Sonic said.

“I know.” Shadow answered. “But don’t blame the messenger.” They all groaned at the thought of not working together, that’s what they always did, why change it?

“Well…guess we’d better get moving.” Silver said, nervously. They all nodded at headed off.

[Silver’s view of things]

‘But. But. But…I’ve never been without somebody watching my back before…I’ve never attacked Eggman alone before…’ I was nervous, ‘I don’t even work for G.U.N why am I listening to ‘em?! What if something goes wrong… …pull yourself together, Silver! You can do this!’ I was encouraging myself, but I still had this aching feeling.

We each had a radio. I was holding it tightly in my hand. “Ok when you’re in position radio in.” Shadow reminded.

“Right.” We all said. I was last to say it. The base was supposed to be in the valley below. I could see its figure, my heart was racing I was worried out of my mind!

[Shadow’s view of things]

I knew Silver was worried to start with, but I didn’t worry about it too much until, he answered last, now, I was worried about him. He had all the right to be worried, this was his first time with no one to back him up. ‘He’ll be fine.’ I felt like I was lying to myself. I held the radio in my hand as I ran.

I could see the figure of a base down in the valley. “Are you guys seeing this?” Sonic’s voice asked.

“…Seeing…having trouble believing.” Knuckles answered.

“What?” I asked.

“You’ll see.”

“See what-what in the world?!” I couldn’t believe my eyes, the base was an ice cube!

[Sonic’s view of things]

I had stopped in mid stride. “Sonic, look!” Tails gasped.

“Are you guys seeing this?” I asked through the radio.

“…Seeing…have trouble believing.” Knuckles answered.

“What?” Shadow asked.

“You’ll see.” Tails answered.

“See what-what in the world?!” He sounded more surprised than I had ever heard him in my life! Eggman’s base, wasn’t a base, it was the world’s largest ice cube!

