The School. Chapter 1: The lions’ den.

I was looking at myself in the mirror. My white, shoulder length, curled hair loose. I was going to Apollo High School. My mother had been homeschooling me form the third grade, but now, we didn’t have the money to pay for all the needed supplies…so…yeah, now I going to ‘the den of lions…’ I-I mean Apollo.

“Grace, come on we’re going to be late!” Mom called from the front door. I sighed, put on my glasses, grabbed my bag, and headed out the door. It was about a 5.5block walk to Apollo High School. I wished it was long. The place was HUGE! There was a banner saying,

Welcome to Apollo High School.

“What’s so welcoming?” I whispered to myself. Mom and I walked into the principal’s office.

“Hello, I’m Mrs. Langston…and you must be Grace, oh,” she looked at my snow white hair. “Oh, how nice to meet you.” I waved shyly. If there’s one thing I CAN’T do, no matter how hard I try is talk to strangers. I get knots in my stomach. “Well, um,” I know why she was stammering, my mom’s hair is black, and my dad’s is brown, mine…snow white. How? Well, my REAL mom had white hair, I never met my father, he was killed two month before I was expected. Mother died two years ago, I was 14. “Classes start in 20 minuets…remember your room number?”

“Yes. 179.” I whispered.

“Locker combination?” She asked.

“13529.

She clapped her hands. “Great…um…well, nice meeting you Grace. Nice seeing you again, Mrs. Rose.”

Mom smiled. “See you after school.” She gave me a hug and a kiss. I rocketed to my locker, hoping, against all odds I wouldn’t be noticed. Soon the first bell rang. I sat in the FAR back corner. The other kids were talking to each other.

“Alright class, please find your seat.” After everyone was quiet and seated. “I’m Mrs. Rosetta, I will be your homeroom teacher. I’d like to welcome all you new comers to Apollo High School!”

‘Roll up the welcome mat we get it.’going to call attendance.” She called a few names…in alphabetical order. “G” is close to the beginning so sooner than later, “Grace Winters?” I was motionless. “Grace Winters?” Everyone started looking around the room. I finally raised my hand. Everyone started bug-eyed at my white hair. I sighed. Mrs. Rosetta continued the attendance. Pretty soon, but not soon enough if you asked me, the first period bell rang. My first class was English. Mr. Hubman wasn’t the nicest teacher on the block. He kept staring at me. My next class before lunch was my favorite, Earth Space Science. Mrs. Washington was very nice she didn’t stare, just called my name and moved on.

I couldn’t help but notice a girl had the same classes as me. Jessy River. She was short with long black hair. She seemed to know everyone in the whole school! The bell rang. I was putting me notebook in me locker to head for lunch.

“Hey, Grace, right?”

I looked. It was Jessy. I nodded. She smiled.

“Jessy let’s go,” one of her friends called. She walked off. I rolled my eyes.

One thought on “The School. Chapter 1: The lions’ den.

Comments are closed.